Multi-Cultural Curry

This dish, as much of my cooking, was inspired by what jumped out at me in the fridge. Today that was sausage. How did my thoughts go sausage… o I know I’ll make a curry. Let me explain:

Sausage was thawed already and I was craving curry spices.

It’s a happy combination that I’ve made a few times now and I keep wanting to eat it. The sausage and the Marinara just add so much flavour that you don’t get from making a chicken or beef curry. And the celery just gives a wonderful crunch to the dish.

I love this picture because you not only see the curry and rice but my vintage green chair and grocery lists posted on the fridge.

So lets break down the cultural co-exhistance and appreciations of this dish spanning through Europe, Asia, and some home-grown Canadian touches.

Multi-Cultrual Curry:

  • 1/4 cup Diced(locally grown) White Onion
  • Sploosh of Olive Oil (yep that’s a technical term meaning just enough oil so you don’t have stick-age in your pan)
  • 2 Stakes of Celery Chopped  into slices(also locally grown this is what I’m counting as Canadian touches 🙂 )
  • 1 Sausage Chopped into slices , I used a German Beer sausage that was appropriate side for a hotdog bun
  • 2 Tbsp Marinara Sauce
  • 2 Tbsp Sour Cream
  • Curry Spice (I use Yellow)
  • 1/2 cup Basmati Rice made according to the directions on the packaging with a dash of Curry spice and Lemon Herb spice
  1. Sploosh the Olive Oil into the pan and put on medium heat upon the stove
  2. Add Onion, Celery, and Sausage
  3. Keep moving ingredients around in the pan until the Sausage is cooked
  4. Add the Marinara and Sour Cream mix these around quickly to coat all the other ingredients
  5. Sprinkle in the Curry Spice and mix it in with the sauce
  6. Lay over top of rice and enjoy

This entry was posted by snoopysnappersniffer.

Leave a Reply

